The English program at Meredith is endowed with 11 scholarships that are awarded by the department for excellence and potential in academic achievement, creativity, leadership and character.

Satisky – Established by Daniel and Alice Satisky for students majoring in English who have financial need and show academic promise; preference given to prospective teachers.

Norma Rose – Established by the English Department. Awarded on the basis of honesty, academic excellence and service.

Perry-Harris – Established by Dr. Julia Hamlet Harris. Awarded on the basis of character, scholarship and leadership.

Carolyn Peacock Poole – Established in honor of Mrs. Poole, sister of Dean L. A. Peacock. Awarded on the basis of scholastic achievement, Christian character, leadership, and potential executive ability.

English Leadership Fund – Established by Caroline Powell Veronee and Charles Du Rant Veronee. Overall GPA of 3.0, exceptional leadership on campus. Preference to rising junior or senior.

Ione Knight Travel Award – Established by English Department. Preference to English majors who have financial need and who plan to study in the UK.

Louise Shingleton Shivers – Awarded to an incoming student (selected on the basis of writing samples and high school teacher recommendation) student who has completed a course in creative writing and shows promise in that area. Each recipient will be obligated to take one course in creative writing while she is at Meredith College.

Lou W. Rosser Scholarship – Awarded on the basis of financial need to undergraduate students wishing to major in English. Preference given to present or prospective students who embody Lou Rosser’s love of creative writing, literature, and learning, as well as her fondness for sharing this love with others.

*Hubbell Award in Creative Writing – Juried award based on portfolio.

*Marion Fiske Welch – Awarded to rising senior excelling in creative writing.

*Elizabeth Avery Colton in Writing – Honors the best piece or collection of pieces in the Colton Review.

*Floyd Alford Journalism Award – Established by Betty Webb in memory of her brother-in-law, who was a journalist. Awarded to student with outstanding journalism talent who has a strong commitment to improve her community through honest, accurate service in a publication. Selected by the English Department member who oversees the publication of the Herald.

In addition, the John Creagh Memorial Scholarship Award was established to honor Dr. Creagh, a beloved Meredith faculty member of theater and communication for 23 years, before he succumbed to cancer just before Easter 2007.  All students with a demonstrated interest in communication, theater, and literature are invited to apply. Students who contribute to the diversity of the college are particularly encouraged to apply.

*Students receive checks which are received at the Reading Day Senior Brunch.

Studying English at Meredith College

Learn more about studying English at Meredith and how an English degree can prepare you for a career in any field.

Learn more about studying English at Meredith and how an English degree can prepare you for a career in any field.

Contact Information
Laura Fine
Head, English Department
120 Lux Hall
(919) 760-8507
School of Arts & Humanities »