2020 Meredith College Commencement Update

  • 2019: Dr. Jo Allen, ’80, first alumna to serve as president of Meredith College
  • 2018: Adrienne Cole, ’93, Greater Raleigh Chamber of Commerce President and CEO
  • 2017: Becky Jacobs, Chief Engagement Officer, Simple Change Wellness
  • 2016: Dr. Ellen Stofan, NASA chief scientist
  • 2015: Dr. Jo Allen, ’80, first alumna to serve as president of Meredith College
  • 2014: Dr. Susan Mbyoa, Director of the Eurasia Africa Group (EAG) for women’s economic empowerment at Coca-Cola, president of the Coca-Cola Africa Foundation, and the founder and president of the Zawadi Africa Educational Fund
  • 2013: Anne-Marie Slaughter, International affairs scholar and the first woman to serve as director of policy planning for the United States Department of State
  • 2012: Silda Wall Spitzer, ’80, Former First Lady, State of New York
  • 2011: Sally Brice-O’Hara, U.S. Coast Guard vice admiral
  • 2010: Gretchen Holt Witt, ’89, a pediatric cancer activist and co-founder of the non-profit Cookies for Kids’ Cancer
  • 2009: Sarah Parker, chief justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court
  • 2008: Betty Ray McCain, former Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources
  • 2007: Elizabeth Edwards, author, advocate and attorney
  • 2006: Beverly Perdue, North Carolina lieutenant governor
  • 2005: Renee Montagne, National Public Radio correspondent and “Morning Edition” co-host
  • 2004: Elaine Marshall, North Carolina Secretary of State
  • 2003: Judy Woodruff, journalist for news organizations including CNN and PBS

Contact Information
Meredith Events
313 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8533