The Roger H. Crook Scholarship provides financial assistance for Meredith College students who are majoring in religion and ethical studies and have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement. The recipients are rising juniors or seniors at Meredith and are selected by the Religious and Ethical Studies faculty. The fund was established by friends and former students of Dr. Crook to express their appreciation for his many contributions to Meredith College during his nearly forty years as a member of the faculty in the Department of Religion & Philosophy.

The McLain Memorial Award is given in memory of Dr. Ralph McLain, long-time professor and head of the Religion and Philosophy Department. It is awarded annually to a Meredith senior entering graduate school to pursue some form of church-related service. Qualifications considered include scholarly achievement, Christian character and contributions to the Meredith community.

The Romulus Ferdinand Hall and Bessie Stanton Hall Scholarship was established by Dr. Hugh Lee McKinney and his wife, Edith Hall McKinney, and daughter, Elaine McKinney Lennon, in loving memory of Mrs. Edith Hall McKinney’s beloved parents to perpetuate love, goodness, and purpose in the lives of young people. The scholarship is to provide financial assistance to religious and ethical studies majors or students receiving a certification in church music during their third and/or fourth year of study at Meredith College.

The Rebecca Jean Morris Lewis Scholarship provides a scholarship for a woman enrolled at Meredith College who is preparing herself for some form of Christian ministry. The scholarship is to be awarded on the basis of merit and/or need.

The Jo Welch Hull Scholarship, was established by Dr. James E. Hull to honor Jo Welch Hull’s dedication of service and commitment to Early Childhood Education and Spiritual Growth & Development and to perpetuate her interest in providing love, friendship and support for Meredith College. Jo Welch Hull, or “Betty Jo Welch” as she was known, graduated from Meredith College in 1953. This scholarship is awarded to a Child Development major or a Religion major.

The Parker-Freeman Scholarship is awarded annually to provide need-based support for a Meredith undergraduate student majoring in Religion. L.E.M. Freeman was head of the Department of Religion at Meredith College for many years, and the scholarship was established by family members including Dr. Freeman’s sons: Tom (wife Laurie), David (wife Connie), and John.

Strong Story | Katy Clary

See how religious and ethical studies students are going strong.

See how religious and ethical studies students are going strong.

Contact Information
Shannon Grimes
Head, Religious & Ethical Studies
216 Lux
(919) 760-8749
School of Arts & Humanities »