Meredith College and Town of Cary Awarded 2017 DIII Tennis Championships

The NCAA has awarded Meredith College and the Town of Cary the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's and Women's National Tennis Championships. The Cary Tennis Park will serve as the championship site for the three-day event in May.

"We look forward to collaborating once again with the expert staff at Cary Tennis Park and with the Town of Cary," said Athletic Director Jackie Myers. "Meredith College gained valuable exposure within the Division III as student-athletes from across the nation gathered here for the 2012 championships."

This selection marks the second time in five years Meredith will partner with the Town of Cary to host the national tennis finals.

"We really want to thank everyone who put in a bid," said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. "The competitiveness of the bids made it extremely difficult for the sport committees to select sites as there just weren't spots for all of the great bids we received. Ultimately the sites that were selected will provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible."

The new NCAA championship bid process created the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.

Bidding for 82 of 89 NCAA championships began in July with 1,984 bid applications submitted. Each division's sport committee selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship event sites awarded. For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to

For more on Avenging Angels athletics, visit

Melyssa Allen

News Director
316 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330