Olson Appointed to North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission

North Carolina Speaker of the House Tim Moore appointed Meredith Department of Education Head Jennifer Olson to the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission. Olson will serve a two-year term.

“It is an honor and I am proud to represent both Meredith College and the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU),” said Olson.

The Teaching Fellows Commission was established to determine which institutions will participate in the program, the selection criteria and selection procedures for forgivable loan recipients, and which students will receive forgivable loans starting in the 2018-19 academic year.

In an effort to recruit top students to enter the teaching profession, the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program will provide forgivable loans for new teachers who agree to teach in North Carolina in the areas of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), as well as special education.

“I am glad that North Carolina is supporting the recruitment of STEM teachers and special educators to our public school classrooms,” said Olson. “There is a real need for quality teachers all across our state. I am ready to get to work making this happen.”

Melyssa Allen

News Director
316 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330