Elaine Marshall to Receive 2017 Woman of Achievement Award

Elaine Marshall

N.C. Secretary of State Elaine F. Marshall is the recipient of Meredith College’s 2017 Woman of Achievement Award. Marshall will speak about her career of service in a public event on Monday, February 27, 2017, at 7 p.m. in Jones Auditorium.

The Woman of Achievement event is presented in observance of Founders’ Day by The Presidential Lecture Series at Meredith College and by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina.

Meredith College’s Woman of Achievement Award recognizes women who are inspirational role models. Previous recipients include former N.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice Sarah Parker, journalist Judy Woodruff, Tony Award-winning choreographer Twyla Tharp, and environmentalist Celine Cousteau.

When Marshall was elected Secretary of State in 1996, she became the first woman elected to a statewide executive office in North Carolina’s history. She had previously served as a member of the N.C. State Senate and practiced law in North Carolina.

Marshall has received numerous state and national awards for leadership in technology, government innovation, and women's leadership. She has also been very active in many civic groups in the areas of child welfare, women’s issues, and agriculture and small town economic development.

Marshall has received honorary doctorate degrees from four colleges, including Meredith College, where she served as a member of the Board of Trustees from 1998 to 2002. Marshall has also served twice as Meredith’s commencement speaker.

Marshall holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Maryland and a law degree from Campbell University.

The Woman of Achievement event is free and open to the public. For Meredith students, this event qualifies as an academic/cultural event in General Education.

Melyssa Allen

News Director
316 Johnson Hall
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330