Meredith College 2010 Faculty/Staff Awards

During the 2010 commencement exercises, the newly established Ida H. Friday Award was presented for the first time.

Assistant Professor of Psychology Gwynn Morris, who joined Meredith’s faculty in 2008, was selected as the inaugural recipient. The new fund supports faculty development, with preference given to faculty members who are early in their careers. The recipient each year will be able to use the funds to support the faculty member’s general advancement, through travel or advanced study of the topic of his or her choice.

The Ida H. Friday award will allow Morris to attend next year’s Society for Research in Child Development conference, where she hopes to present her research.

Other faculty and staff were recognized for excellence during the College’s annual Faculty/Staff Awards and Recognition event, held on Friday, April 23 in Jones Chapel. The full list of 2010 award recipients is below.

PAULINE DAVIS PERRY AWARDSShannon Johnstone, associate professor of art, Award for Research and Publication and/or Artistic Achievement
Jackie Dietz, professor of mathematics, Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Pauline Davis Perry Award for Research and Publication and/or Artistic Achievement is given to a faculty member who has done exceptional research, publication and/or artistic achievement. The Pauline Davis Perry Award for Excellence in Teaching is given to an outstanding teacher at Meredith.

One of the Harrill awards was presented to Denise Rotondo, dean of the School of Business, in recognition of her efforts in leading Meredith’s School of Business’ successful effort to gain AACSB accreditation. The other Harrill award was presented to Associate Professor of Mathematics Tim Hendrix, Associate Professor of Psychology Mark O’Dekirk, Dean of Students Ann Gleason and Dean of the Library Laura Davidson for their work as leaders of Meredith’s SACS Reaccreditation and PRISM QEP Teams.

The Laura Harrill Presidential Awards are presented to two faculty members each year, in recognition of their noteworthy contributions to the advancement of Meredith College.

HARRY AND MARION EBERLY FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AWARDSKassy Mies, assistant professor of chemistry

The Harry and Marion Eberly Faculty Development Awards are given to deserving faculty members for the purpose of helping them progress in their area of expertise.

The cash awards are funded through the Faculty Applied Meredith Endowment, or FAME, established in 1977 as an independent fund for supplemental faculty benefits.

Talani Torres, instructor of dance

The Access Award honors a member of the faculty or staff at Meredith College who has made significant contributions toward the advocacy, support, encouragement and success of students with disabilities. Nominations are collected from students with disabilities and are voted on by the Disability Services Panel.

Ann Troutman, recruitment specialist in the Office of Admissions

Established in 2002, the Presidential Staff Award is given in recognition of exemplary service to the Meredith community. The Meredith College president chooses the recipient.


Laura Fieselman, sustainability coordinator
Natalie Herrmann, events coordinator

Staff Recognition Awards are presented annually to two staff members who, through their job performance, have demonstrated initiative, teamwork, extra effort and outstanding customer service to the Meredith community.

Janice Coffey Swab Sustainability AwardNew this year, this award recognizes a full-time employee or department who exemplifies Meredith’s sustainability vision. The award has been named in recognition of Professor Emerita Janice Swab’s consistent and long-standing advocacy for environmental awareness and sustainability at Meredith and beyond.

Kirk Nuss, processing assistant in the Office of Admissions, is the inaugural recipient of the Janice Coffey Swab Sustainability Award.

Date Submitted: 2010-05-13

Bookmark and Share


More Headlines

Celebrate the New Thomas Meredith Marker September 27 »

Meredith Holds Constitution Day Debate »

Decision Height to be Presented by Meredith Ensemble Theatre »

History, Political Science, and International Studies Week 2017 »

Haitian Orphan Choir Visits Meredith College »

Media Contact:

Melyssa Allen
News Director
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)