Meredith College Homepage


School of Business Honor Society Inductions and Senior Awards

The School of Business held its Honor Society Induction and Senior Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, April 14th, at 5:30 p.m. with approximately 95 attendees. Three honor societies inducted new members; Alpha Mu Alpha (AMA), Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), and Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE).  Seniors were honored for academic excellence and leadership, the Outstanding Business School Professor Award was presented as was the School of Business Scholar of the Year Award.  The Ceremony included a welcome from Dr. Jane Barnes, Dean of the School of Business, with School of Business faculty, students, staff, and guests attending.  A reception with light refreshments concluded the event.

Alpha Mu Alpha is the national marketing honorary for qualified marketing students and marketing faculty that acknowledges outstanding scholastic achievement on a highly competitive basis. 
New inductees are Jennifer Fruchey and Martha Hobby. Dr. Karen Mishra, Assistant Professor of Business, is faculty advisor for AMA.

Beta Gamma Sigma provides the highest recognition a business student can receive in a baccalaureate or graduate program at a school accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.  New undergraduate inductees are Melisa Antunez, Kathryn Holland, Cody Jeffery, Zainabu Otieno, Diane Sherman, Alejandra Solares de la Campa, Jasmin Urena.  New MBA inductees are Amanda Brown, Carrie Ehrfurth, Joseph Harper, Todd Kavlock, Dipti Patel, Swati Sar. Dr. Jane Barnes, Dean of the School of Business, is faculty advisor for BGS.

Omicron Delta Epsilon, the International Honor Society for Economics, is one of the world’s largest honor societies.  The objectives include recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics.   New inductees are Mariah Ambrose, Melisa Antunez, Rosmairy Concepcion Ortega, Jennifer Ellis, Norma Garcia-Ortiz, Kathryn Holland, Emily Lohff, Maria Martinez Vico, Leah Mooney, Zainabu Otieno, Aarusha Shakya. Dr. Anne York, Associate Professor of Economics, is faculty advisor for the Meredith College Phi Chapter of ODE.

The following seniors received awards:

Christa Allen -- Lois Frazier Award
Colleen Bogner -- Sandra Hanner Award
Alexis Trell -- Excellence in Business
Aleka Allen -- Excellence in Accounting
Rebecca Naliaka -- Excellence in Economics

Seniors receiving a Human Resource Management Concentration were presented with cords:  Mariah Ambrose, Katherine Bowling, Allix Lasser, Michelle Ramirez, Amanda Seate.

The Outstanding Business School Professor Award was presented to Assistant Professor Kristy Dixon.

The School of Business Scholar of the Year Award was presented to Associate Professor Dr. Ying Liao.


                  MBA Beta Gamma Sigma Inductees


             Undergraduate Beta Gamma Sigma Inductees


                       Omircon Delta Epsilon Inductees       


American Marketing Association Inductee  and Faculty Advisor


Recipients of Human Resource Management Concentration Cords


                Lois Frazier Award Winner

            Excellence Award in Economics


Bookmark and Share


More News

School of Business Honor Society Inductions and Senior Awards »

Student president of Interfaith Council selected for national leadership team »

Dr. Garry Walton and Dr. Jonathan Wade on WPTF »

Odera will pursue summer research »

Parrish will attend NCSU vet school »

Contact Information:

Melyssa Allen
News Director
(919) 760-8087
Fax: (919) 760-8330
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)