Strong Alumnae


Women’s colleges develop women who break barriers and assume leadership roles. Among the “firsts” produced by women’s colleges: the first woman to be named the U.S. Secretary of State, the first woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize and the first woman neurosurgeon in the U.S.


  • First woman to serve in a leadership role in the North Carolina House and Senate: Betsy Lane Cochrane, ’58
  • First woman and first African-American officer to hold command roles in the Chaplain Corps of the U.S. Navy: C.C. Wiggins, ’76
  • First female U.S. Attorney in North Carolina: Margaret Currin, ’72
  • First woman to be ordained in a Southern Baptist Church: Addie E. Davis, ’42
  • First woman certified by American Board of Prosthodontics: Patricia Smathers Moulton, ’53, DDS


  • N.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice: Sarah Parker, attended 1960-62
  • Broadcast journalist: Judy Woodruff, attended 1964-66
  • Tony-Award winning actor: Beth Leavel, ’77
  • Fulbright scholars: Samantha Cibelli, ’11; Lauren Highfill, ’02
  • NC Women’s Hall of Fame: Ruth Dial Woods, ’62
  • Professors, deans and college presidents: Suzanne Reynolds, ’71, executive associate dean for academic affairs and professor, Wake Forest University School of Law; Jo Allen, ’80, president of Meredith College; Laura Prestwood, ’90, department chair of interior design and merchandising, Texas Christian University; Lauren Highfill, ’02, assistant professor of psychology, Eckerd College; Steffani Webb, '82, Vice Chancellor for Administration, University of Kansas Medical Center; Linda McKinnish Bridges ’75, associate dean of admissions, Wake Forest University.
  • Vice-Presidents at major corporations: Meg Armstrong, general manager of e-commerce, QVC; Becca Correll McClendon, ’81, senior vice president in FedEx services/CIO for FedEx Freight; Jo Cooper, ’67, former group vice president for government & industry affairs, Toyota Motor North America; Anne Huffman, ’81, vice president-HR projects at Duke Energy Corporation; Leigh Brady, '91, Executive Vice President for Organizational Development, State Employees Credit Union.
  • Teachers of the Year: Elizabeth Loftis Plotkin, ’06; Stephanie Crocker, ’04, M.Ed., ’11; Jennifer Facciolini, ’98; Amanda Huerta, ’06.
  • Founders of nonprofits: Gretchen Holt, ’89, founder of Cookies for Kids Cancer; Lori Moscato, ’99, founder of Pay It Forward Fertility Foundation; Silda Wall Spitzer, ’80, founder of Children for Children; Pat Nathan, ’74, founder of Triangle Chapter of Dress for Success.

Beyond the Back Gate
Submit Class Notes
Update Contact Information
Class List Serve
Refer a Student
Make a Gift Today

Contact Information:

Mae Grimmer Alumnae House
Phone: (919) 760-8548
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)